On Sunday, March 23, 2003 Fort Wayne Mayor and Eagle Scout Graham Richard was the keynote speaker for the Miami District Annual Volunteer Recognition Dinner. The Miami District covers southern Allen County for the Anthony Wayne Area Council Boy Scouts of America. Mayor Richard delivered an eloquent speech that included many fine points about the hard work, dedication, and positive influences on youth. The Scouting volunteers heard some outstanding stories about the Mayor’s extensive Scouting and leadership background.

The purpose of this event was to honor the adult volunteers. The Miami District currently reaches out to build character through many different programs such as In-School Scouting, Learning for Life, Scoutreach/Urban Emphasis, Exploring, Venturing, Varsity Scouts, Cub Scouts, and Boy Scouts.

Congratulations to all volunteers who offer gifts of time, energy, hard work, and skills to the Scouts. Awards recipients included: District Award of Merit to Mary Hardy and Irv Arnold, Council Patch Award to Tom Watson, Nancy Seplak, and Laura Haneline, Cubmaster of the Year to John Bachle, Scoutmaster of the Year to Ken Wells, Commissioner of the Year to Eric Gehrig, Den Leader of the Year to Diane Jarmus, Committee Member of the Year to Tammi Amadon and Dan Brophy, Princess Award to Theresa Chase, Gloria Warthen, Rachel McNeely, and Kathy Wells, Chief Award to Steve Chandler, Roger Amadon, Jim Krzyzanowski, and Tom Herber, Spouse of the Year to Mark Hardy, Unit Scouter of the Year Award to Mary Hardy, Michael Morgan, James Fox, Irv Arnold, Thomas Clendenen, Gary McComber, Doug Williams, Betty Zimmerman, Kyle Cyr, Bob Hinty, David Griggs, Sue Trexler, Renee Moore, Kelley Howald, Chad Ware, and Donna Gibson, and the coveted Flaming Turkey of the Year Award to Irv Arnold! The event took place at the West Side Gardens Reception Hall in Fort Wayne.